RSS Feed Link

Innovation in Economic Development

on July 16, 2010 Source: Policy Dialogue on Entrepreneurship

The U.S. Economic Development Administration has announced that it is now accepting applications for the 2010 Innovation in Economic Development Awards. The deadline for entries is August 27th, 2010 and winners will be announced October 27th, 2010. The purpose of the awards is to "recognize innovative economic development projects or strategies of national significance."

There are four award categories:
* Innovation in Regional Innovation Clusters (RICs)
* Innovation in Commercialization
* Innovation in Global Export Promotion
* Innovation in Green Technology

The Innovation in Commercialization category "promotes the commercialization of university research and technology, business incubators and research parks to foster job creation." The issue of moving innovations from university labs to the marketplace has been the subject of much discussion in policy circles and the government lately. Most recently, Dane Stangler from the Kauffman Foundation testified before the Joint Congressional Committee and provided several recommendations.

A list of the 2009 EDA Awards winners can be found here.

Category:  Technology Transfer 

comments powered by Disqus

Search PDE

Policy Dialogue on Entrepreneurship Get Your Weekly Digest

Register today to receive news and updates from

Email Newsletter Signup

Past eNewsletters

View All

Email Newsletters

Want to be up-to-date with the latest news and updates from To subscribe, just give us your email address below; you'll choose which e-newsletters you'd like to receive on the next screen.