RSS Feed Link

Postdoctoral Entrepreneurs Recognized for Excellence

on March 22, 2010 Source: Policy Dialogue on Entrepreneurship

The Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation has presented it two inaugural Postdoctoral Entrepreneur Awards at the 8th Annual Meeting of the National Postdoctoral Association on Friday, March 12. This represents the first time that the entrepreneurial performance of postdoctoral researchers in the scientific community is being formally honored and celebrated.

The two award recipients were:

  • 2010 Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation Outstanding Postdoctoral Entrepreneur: Dr. Stephen W. Turner, chief technology officer of Pacific Biosciences. Dr. Turner received a $10,000 honorarium
  • 2010 Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation Emerging Postdoctoral Entrepreneur: Dr. Antonio R. Webb, co-founder, senior scientist, and lead development engineer of VesselTek. Dr. Webb received a $2,500 honorarium. 
“Postdoctoral scholars who take the entrepreneurial steps to get their research to market bring enormous potential to society and the economy,” said Sandra Miller, director of advancing innovation at the Kauffman Foundation.

The National Postdoctoral Association (NPA) received nearly 100 nominations for the two awards. The selection committee included: Dr. Eric Elenko, senior principal, PureTech Ventures; Dr. Peter Fiske, co-founder, RAPT Industries; Dr. Stacy Gelhaus, chair, NPA Board of Directors; Dr. Crystal R. Icenhour, president/director of research, Phthisis Diagnostics; Dr. K. T. Moortgat, partner, MDV-Mohr Davidow Ventures; Dr. Asha Nayak, senior principal scientist, Medtronic; and, Johnson Phillips.

Read more about the award recipients, here.


Category:  General  Tags:  kauffman foundation

comments powered by Disqus

Search PDE

Policy Dialogue on Entrepreneurship Get Your Weekly Digest

Register today to receive news and updates from

Email Newsletter Signup

Past eNewsletters

View All

Email Newsletters

Want to be up-to-date with the latest news and updates from To subscribe, just give us your email address below; you'll choose which e-newsletters you'd like to receive on the next screen.